Across the globe:
Leading, linking, learning

About International Confederation of Principals

The ICP is the only global association that brings together the representatives of school principals organisations from all over the world to discuss the challenges facing school leaders wherever they work.

ICP was established in 1990 by Principal Associations from 10 countries - Australia, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Japan, The Netherlands, USSR, United Kingdom and United States of America - as the peak global organisation for principals. Today ICP reaches out across four regions of the globe.

ICP is non political and non sectoral with members from government and non government sectors and from primary and secondary schools.

The ICP is dedicated to the development, support and promotion of school leadership globally.

Presidents Message

Conventions & Council Meetings 

Conventions and council meetings are key events on the ICP agenda. The ICP Convention is a bi- annual event that brings together both members and guests to learn from and share with pre eminent educators, world leaders, national political identities, researchers and principals. ICP Conventions are a very significant event on the international education calendar with in excess of 1500 principals in attendance. They are an opportunity for the host country or province to highlight their education policies and practices.

Previous conventions were held in the following locations:

2017 ( Cape Town) South Africa

2015 (Helsinki) Finland

2013 (Cairns) Australia

2011 ( Toronto) Canada

2009 ( Singapore) Singapore

2007 ( Auckland) New Zealand

2005 ( Cape Town) South Africa

2003 ( Edinburgh) Scotland

2001 ( Gyeongji) South Korea

1999 ( Helsinki) Finland

1997 ( Boston) United States of America

1995 ( Sydney) Australia

1993 ( Geneva) Switzerland

The next Convention will be held in Shanghai China in 2019

Council Meetings

Council meetings occur at least once a year, with the council meeting attached to the convention every second year. Council provides members with an opportunity to learn about education practices and policies specifically as it relates to the role of the school principals as they work to improve student learning outcomes.The council is conducted as a forum for members to discuss and share issues and to determine future focii for the ICP.

The next Council will be held in Killarney. Ireland in August 2018




ICP is governed by a Council made up by nominated representatives of member associations.

Each association has one vote at the Council and can be represented by up to three individual members.

The day to day business of ICP is managed by an Executive of seven: the President (2 year term), President Elect/Immediate Past President (one year term each), 4 regional representatives and 1 general representative. The Executive is supported by an appointed Executive Secretary.

President - Ms Fiona Forbes (ASEPA) or

President Elect - Mrs Alta van Heerden (SAPA)

The ICP regions are:

The Americas - Executive representative - Mr John Hamilton (OPC)

Africa – Executive representative - Mrs Cecilia Kwakye Cofie (CHASS)

Asia and Oceania – Executive representative - Dr Ruihua Dai (NTCSSP)

Europe – Executive representative - Dr Peter Kent (ASCL)

General Executive representative - Mr Rob Nairn (ASPA)

Executive Secretary - Mrs Sheree Vertigan -  

The Registered Office for the ICP is:

Level 1/ 31 Stewart Street


Tasmania 7310



ICP Call for Nominations President Elect.pdf   ICP Call for Nominations Regional Representatives.pdf

Nomination for Regional Representative.pdf

Constitution & By Laws 

Strategic Plan 



Life Members 

 In 2006, the ICP Executive and Council passed a motion to award ICP Members with Life Membership.

Life Membership was then bestowed on a number of past presidents up to that date - 2006; however the process did not continue beyond that time and in 2016 in response to a request from the Council the Executive again explored the issue of reinstating Life Membership.

Following discussion at Council, the following criteria were developed and passed by the Perth Council August 2016.

In making the decision to recommend a person for Life Membership, the Executive and Council must be satisfied that the person to be nominated meets at least four of the following criteria:

  1. Active participation in ICP for ten years or more
  2. Be a member of the ICP Executive for at least two years
  3. Serve as President of ICP
  4. Be recognized as an educational leader in the international environment
  5. Demonstrate considerable commitment to the furtherance of education internationally
  6. Professional character and conduct consistent with the aims and objectives of ICP

In making the decision to accept or reject a recommendation for Life Membership, the Council must have regard for the prestigious nature of Life Membership. 


At the 2017 Convention held in Cape Town, the following people were honored with Life Membership:

Ari Pokka  (Finland) President 2015 & 2016

Lisa Vincent (Canada) President 2014 & 2013

Virginia O'Mahony (Ireland) President 2012 & 2011

Andrew Blair (Australia) President 2011 & 2010

Kathleen Griffin (United Kingdom - in absentia) President (2009 & 2008)

David Wylde ( South Africa) President (2007 & 2006)

Vicki Shannon ( Canada) Past Executive Member

Sean Cottrell ( Ireland) Past Executive Member

Belinda Charles ( Singapore) Past Executive Member

Edie Jacobs ( South Africa) Past Executive Member

See the benefits that ICP can have on your school!

Become a member today